Baby Dust

My day 3 lab draw did not go well.  For some reason, my veins were not cooperating whatsoever.  It took 4 pokes and the second phlebotomist was not sure if she was able to get enough to run the necessary tests.  When we have problems drawing labs on people in the ED, we call the phlebotomists from lab and it NEVER takes them 4 pokes….and that is on sick people…I’m not sick!  When I left the draw room, I actually whimpered a little bit and thought, “baby, the things I’m doing for you.”  The charge nurse was standing at the greeter desk and when I showed her my bandaged arms after the 4 attempts, she gave me a hug.  I was suprised to find out that a hug was exactly what I needed at that moment.

That evening I got a call from the RE office because some of the labs were not drawn.  There was an error in the computer system that prevented the phlebotomist from seeing all of the orders.  The important thing however, was that the specific day 3 tests were drawn on day 3.  The next day, the phlebotomist came up to the ED to draw my blood work.  The two other phlebotomists warned her that I was a very hard stick, but she had drawn my labs before without difficulty.  She got it.  First stick (THANK GOD!).

“You don’t have Chlamydia, Gonorrhea, Hepatitis B or C.  Your blood type is B+.  You are immune to German Measles and varicella.  Your FSH, estrogen, and progesterone levels are normal.  Your genetic panel shows you are not at increased risk compared to the general population of passing on any of the tested disorders.  Your AMH level is back and is normal. This suggests you should have an appropriate amount of remaining eggs.”

This is how my follow up appointment with Dr. Davis began.  I was happy to see him come in with a resident physician in tow rather than the resident coming in alone.  Not that I have anything against resident physicians, but I don’t want to chit chat and review my history…let’s cut to the chase with the big guns.  I cleared up some questions that I needed answers to.  Do I have PCOS if every test is coming back normal?  Short answer: yes.  Long answer: PCOS is a diagnosis of exclusion.  Since nothing else has been found, then PCOS is the probable cause.  PCOS is not something that can necessarily be cured, but the ovulatory difficulties that it causes can be overcome.  The fertility medications are being effective in aiding ovulation, however Dr. Davis believes that Femara will be a better fit for me.  He said that Clomid is good, but Femara works better with PCOS.  It is also safer because it leads to more single pregnancies than Clomid.  It is more expensive per month: about $100 vs $30 for Clomid, and some pharmacies may not be familiar with this off-label use.  He does recommend an ultrasound during the first round of Femara to see if the dose is effective.  That ultrasound is coded for infertility and would not be covered by my insurance.  However, I have an ultrasound coming up to recheck my dermoid cyst (Mabel) and if I schedule it on CD 12-13, if the tech happens to measure all of the “cysts” aka follicles, then Dr. Davis can look at those results to get the information that he needs.

So I officially have a plan in place about how to proceed!  IF I am not pregnant after this cycle, we will begin Femara and I will reschedule the ultrasound for CD 12-13.  If all looks good, I may decide to go ahead with IUI, and we can do that any cycle that we chose.  The success rates of conception drop off after 4 cycles of Femara, but we could potentially do 6 successful cycles.

Having a plan feels good.  I feel hopeful, more patient, more flexible, and happier.  It also helps that my cycle has finally alligned with hubby’s days off of work.  I am also very thankful that I’ve been able to celebrate my friends pregnancies rather than be envious of them.  I know how much I want to get pregnant, and how happy I will be when I do.  Because of that, I feel like there is no other option than to be happy, support them, and celebrate their milestones.  We don’t know the struggles that they may have had to go through; mentally, emotionally, or physically.

Just got the first flashing smiley face for this month…come on BABY DUST!!!!!

imagesCAWWD59BimagesCAHS9DJ7

 

One thought on “Baby Dust

  1. If brand name Femara is that expensive- try the generic Letrozole. Without insurance, letrozole is about $3 USD for a weeks dosage (give or take, depending on your dosing) Good luck!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

